Astghik Mavisakalyan

Principal Research Fellow

PhD (USyd)
MA (Tsukuba)
Diploma (YSU)

Telephone+61 8 9266 4412
Research Fields

Labour and Demographic Economics, Cultural Economics, Political Economy, Development Economics


Astghik Mavisakalyan is a Professor of Economics at the Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre at Curtin University. She is also a Chief Investigator of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for the Elimination of Violence against Women (CEVAW) and leads Curtin’s node of the Centre. Prior to joining Curtin, she held an appointment at the Research School of Economics at Australian National University. Astghik is a member of the Hiroshima Institute of Health Economics Research, a Fellow at Global Labour Organisation, and has held visiting positions, consultancies or fellowships at the Leibniz Institute for East and Southeast European Studies (Regensburg), the Centre for Labour and Welfare Research (Oslo), UNU-WIDER (Helsinki), the Local Government and Public Service Reform Initiative at Open Society Institute (Budapest), and the Social Policy Research Centre at UNSW (Sydney).

Astghik is an Associate Editor of the Journal of Population Economics and the Australian Journal of Agricultural and Resource Economics and a member of the editorial board of the Economic and Labour Relations Review. She has also served as a co-editor of a special issue of the Economic Record  and is the founding chair of the steering committee of the Australian Gender Economics Workshop series.

Astghik’s research has focused on employment, education, health, wellbeing and preference formation, seeking to understand the role of the family, institutions, culture and external shocks in these areas. She has received funding from the Australian Research Council and a range of Category 2 and 3 sources and has been recognized through awards including the Walter Noel Gillies Prize for Best PhD Thesis in Economics at the University of Sydney (2010); Curtin Business School New Researcher of the Year award (2015) and Curtin Faculty of Business and Law Researcher of the Year award (2018).