BCEC researchers clean up at Faculty research awards

ContactsJoanna Holcombe, Industry Engagement Coordinator
Published11 March 2024

Three Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre researchers have been recognised in the 2023 Curtin University Faculty of Business and Law Research and Industry Staff Awards for their outstanding contributions to research in the faculty.

Professor Astghik Mavisakalyan, Principal Research Fellow, took home the 2023 Researcher of the year award. This award recognises research activities that demonstrate leadership (including mentoring).

Dr Abebe Hailemariam, Senior Research Fellow, was awarded the 2023 New Researcher of the Year, an award encouraging upcoming researchers and acknowledges their research output.

Dr Daniel Kiely, Senior Research Fellow, took home a Highly Commended nod for the Researcher Engagement category.

This award acknowledges the variety of ways that researchers promote the Faculty of Business and Law (FBL) research beyond academia and aims to foster a culture that values engagement and impact activities with organisations.

The awards are part of FBL’s commitment to excellence in research, leadership and research supervision.

“This is a tremendous effort and wonderful recognition of the calibre of researchers we have at the Centre,” Professor Alan Duncan, director of the Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre said. “To have one researcher recognised is a great achievement, to have three recognised is exceptional.”

A warm congratulations to Astghik, Abebe and Daniel for their well deserved recognition.